## Congratulations to the newly elected full member and corresponding members!

Written by Administrator Thursday, 09 May 2019 22:17 - Last Updated Friday, 10 May 2019 11:33

The general assembly of the Russia Academy of Engineering (RAE) and the International Academy of Engineering (IAE) took place on April 26th 2019. What was also on the agenda of the assembly was selecting the 2019 members for the academy. After careful assessment of the qualifications of the nominees, the IAE announced 12 new academicians (download) and 19 new corresponding members (download)

, respectively hailing from Russia, Azerbaijan, Slovenia, Kyrgyzstan, Taiwan, Armenia, Kazakhstan, Tajikistan, Uzbekistan, etc.

To the great delight of the Taiwan delegate, Dr. Kuo-Ning Chiang, chair professor at Taiwan's National Tsing Hua University, was named one of the academicians, while President Ching-Jong Liao of National Taiwan University of Science and Technology and Professor Shan-Hui Hsu, director of the Institute of Polymer Science and Engineering at National Taiwan University, were both selected as corresponding members.

Appointed one of the corresponding members in 2013, Professor Chiang specializes in power mechanical engineering, MEMS, and nano-mechanics. Successfully applied statistical mechanics and artificial intelligence to electronic packaging and to nanotechnology for semiconductor manufacturing, he has earned numerous international awards and also holds many patents for his research findings. Professor Liao is an expert in industrial management and intelligent manufacturing systems for production scheduling. Elected a fellow of Asia Pacific Industrial Engineering and Management Society (APIEMS), he has been repeatedly honored by Taiwan's National Science Council for his distinguished research outcomes. Professor Hsu is a leading authority on biomedical engineering and polymer science, a brilliant female engineer, an elected fellow of the American Institute for Medical and Biological Engineering (AIMBE), winner of 2015 Taiwan Biotechnology Foundation Chair Professor Award and recipient of many accolades from Taiwan's National Science Council and Ministry of Economic Affairs.

## Congratulations to the newly elected full member and corresponding members!

Written by Administrator Thursday, 09 May 2019 22:17 - Last Updated Friday, 10 May 2019 11:33

Congratulations to the newly elected full member and corresponding members!